Warwick School District

Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program

The principal, Dr. Kristina Szobocsan, of Warwick High School announced today that students: Sean Burchett, Magdalena Lutz, Samuel Lynch, Shaddy Makhlouf, Gavin Troop, and Abigail Weaver have been named Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.  

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2021 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). 

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

“We are proud to recognize and honor the hard work of these students whose academic talents placed them in the running for the National Merit Scholarship. It is awesome to have six members of our high school receive this honor this year,” stated Dr. Szobocsan.